

## **Press Release** FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

May 6, 2024

Contact: Don Mitchell, Executive Director 270-519-9101

## MCCCE Announces 2024/25 Educational Scholarship Winners

The McCracken County Community Career Endowment, Inc. (MCCCE) is pleased to distribute the 2024/25 Educational Scholarships at a reception honoring 34 students at 2:00 p.m., Sunday, June 2, 2024 at the Clemens Fine Arts Center on the campus of West Kentucky Community and Technical College.

The event's keynote speaker will be Dr. Thailandria Daniels. She was a member of our PaxtonScholars Class V, an early graduate of Louisiana State University with a degree in Biochemistry in 2020 and is a recent graduate of the University of Kentucky Medical School. This summer, she will be starting her career as an Emergency Medicine intern at Washington University in St. Louis, Missouri.

Throughout medical school, she was heavily involved in extracurriculars. When Covid was at its peak during her first year, she worked as a vaccinator and lab coordinator. As a second-year medical student, she was selected as one of two individuals to receive UKCOM's Department of Behavioral Science inaugural White Coats for Black Lives Fellowship. As a member, she completed research regarding physician perspectives on UKCOM's occupational climate and strategies to recruit and retain underrepresented physicians at UKCOM and hopes to publish her work soon.

Additionally, she was an active member of UKCOM's Student National Medical Association (SNMA) which is a national organization committed to serving and empowering underrepresented communities. In her final year of school, she served as their Chapter President and Regional Medical Education Conference (RMEC) Chair/Director in December 2023 and most recently represented her chapter at the 60<sup>th</sup> Annual Medical Education Conference in NOLA this past March 2024.

As a first-generation college graduate and soon to be first-generation physician, she is incredibly appreciative of her educational journey and hopes to utilize her personal testimony as a childhood abuse survivor and first-generation student to inspire others and to become an advocate for the underserved. "Exposure leads to expansion." and she is honored for the opportunity to become the first physician in her family and a vessel for her community.

Due to additional funds received from the Fred and Peggy Paxton Non-Endowed Fund, enhanced scholarship funds will also be presented to six (6) students in Class XIII of the PaxtonScholars Program. Alexa White, Kilee Minter, Sydnee Harris, Anniya Harris, Aleczandrea Coffie and Alyssa Foster will receive scholarship

funds earned during their Junior and Senior years of high school. They were awarded a college-ready laptop computer with a carrying case in December 2023 and will receive additional funds next year which they will earn during their first two semesters of college (all these funds are based on student Grade Point Averages). Students in Class XII of the PaxtonScholars Program will receive funds earned during their 2024 Spring college semester and students recently selected to comprise the PaxtonScholars Program Class XIV will be recognized.

The 35 students chosen based on their GPA, financial need, achievements, and future goals to receive the 2024/25 MCCCE Educational Scholarship funds totaling approximately \$60,000.00 are:

Sarina Hamilton—Murray State University, Graphic Design Major Andriah Hawthorne—Murray State University, Communications Disorders Major Zoe Houston—Murray State University, Physics & Math Major Brenda Taylor—Kentucky State University, Education Major Gabrielle Copeland—University of Kentucky, Theatre/Arts Administration Major Shymiya Dave—University of Louisville, Exercise Science Major Shaovion Davis—West Kentucky Community and Technical College, Practical Nursing Major Jackson Mundy—University of Louisville, Business Management Major Hanna Scott-Murray State University, Learning & Behavior Disorders/Middle Social Studies Major Roselyn Minter—University of Kentucky Engineering School @ Paducah-Civil Engineering Major Maurice Baucom—West Kentucky Community and Technical College, Psychology Major Ma'Hali Brown—University of Kentucky, Finance Major Chase Maxie—West Kentucky Community and Technical College, Mechanical Engineering Major Lebran McMullen—Kentucky State University, Business Major Raymond Green—West Kentucky Community and Technical College, Mechanical Engineering Major Khiland Moss—University of Kentucky, Kinesiology Major Serenity McCov---University of Kentucky, Political Science Major Kauri Whitfield----University of Kentucky, Pre-Nursing Major Landon Fitzgerald---West Kentucky Community and Technical College, Exercise Science Major Joemari Starks---Campbellsville University, Sports Management Major Jaelynn Carver---Western Kentucky University, Psychology Major Joseph Reeves, Jr.---Murray State University, Television Production Major Elijah Patrick---Austin Peay University, Medical Laboratory Science Major Kailen McGregor---MCHS Senior, Centre College, Theater & English Major Brooklynne Riley---PTHS Senior, Dallas College, Diagnostic Medical Sonography Major Jokerrian Casey---PTHS Senior, University of Kentucky, Sports Journalism Major Javla Reed---PTHS Senior, Campbellsville University, Medical Technology Major Paige Hixon---PTHS Senior, Kentucky State University, Nursing Major Makayla Hughes---PTHS Senior, Berea College, Psychology Major Amari Williams---PTHS Senior, University of Louisville, Mechanical Engineering Major Alexandria Copper---PTHS Senior, University of Louisville, Chemistry Major Nevaeh Troupe---PTHS Senior, Western Kentucky University, Undecided Major Heaven Troupe---PTHS Senior, Western Kentucky University, Nursing Major Dwight Duffy III---PTHS Senior, Berea College, Pharmacy Major Dale Young III----Western Kentucky University, Sports Management Major

## SEVENTH ANNUAL B.A. HAMILTON MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP

Raymond Green-West Kentucky Community and Technical College, Mechanical Engineering Major

## CHARLES HICKS MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIPS

Alexa White—Kentucky State University, Business Major Joe'Avion Starks Kentucky State University, Agriculture Major

For the Eighteenth (18<sup>th</sup>) consecutive year, the Ronald McDonald House Charities donated funds again this year to purchase two new college ready HP laptop computers, with carrying cases. Ms. Cathy Elliott will award them to two lucky scholarship winners during the program.

Nine (9) area mentoring/tutoring organizations each received \$1,200.00 grants from the MCCCE Fredrickia Hargrove Mentoring/Tutoring Enrichment Program. To be recognized are: Ninth Street Tabernacle Youth Ministries, Inc., L.I.F.E. Community, Inc., The Luther Carson Four Rivers Center, KeysII@Broadway United Methodist Church, Tornado Alley Youth Services Center, Black Coal & Roses Society Young Ladies Organization, PTHS African American Leadership Club, PTHS Student Equity Advisory Council and the MCHS African American Leadership Club.

The event is open to the public. For tickets, call 270-519-9101 to purchase your tickets for a suggested \$10.00 donation.

View our website at mccce.org to learn how to donate funds to assist the MCCCE in our efforts.